red flannel pajamas

I didn’t want to go anywhere but I knew I needed to get out of the house. After a busy week at work the last thing I want to do is purposely be out shopping, but there I found myself driving to pick up my friend so we could head to the mall. Almost on auto-pilot I drove to her house, radio on but I can’t tell you what songs played. I really just wanted to be home with a good book.

At the stop sign I looked left, right, left, and then I saw a glimpse of red. I looked right again and there it was, this figure standing on the porch of the house on the corner in red flannel pajamas. An older gentleman, possibly late 70’s – early 80’s. just standing there in his red flannel PJs on a Sunday afternoon enjoying the sunshine, the cool breeze, and watching the squirrels running along his trees. I don’t know why I paused, but it was something about those red flannel pajamas in the middle of the afternoon that made me smile, ok made me laugh a little.

Maybe we all need a day when we put on our cozy PJs and just step outside and enjoy the beauty of nature. I know, without knowing, that I needed that pause and I am sure glad I was able to capture that moment.

Leave a Reply

