comfort of friendship

There is a comfort in friendship. After a long, stressful week at work I find comfort in the guaranteed support that I receive from my friend(s).

A brief text to ask about my day, to share a joke or a funny picture can turn my day around in an instant. Even ‘listening’ to my friend vent is comforting because it takes me away from my issues and allows me insight to their day. It makes me feel honored that my friend feels comfortable enough to share time with me, even if it is simply via text.

One friend in particular is especially comforting because in spite of the many miles that separate us I know that I can count on a text just about every day. It’s a pick-me-up when I look at my phone and see a text that I know will make me laugh.

It’s amazing that in this huge world filled with billions of people that God has guided me to a special person that I can connect with and has allowed a true, pure friendship to develop. Really, think about it, we interact with many people most days of our life but we are not friends, or even acquaintances, with these individuals. But during our day, at some point, we make a connection and before we know it we have a friend. It’s a special occurrence.

This week has been particularly long and stressful but I have found comfort in friendship. It’s the quiet in my chaos. And I am thankful.

“A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter, He who finds one finds a treasure.” Sirach 6:14

Leave a Reply

