Solitaire

This morning I was playing a game of solitaire (on my phone) to complete the daily challenge. I was quickly going through the game and I realized that I wasn’t even enjoying it, and I thought to myself….life is sometimes like a game of solitaire.

In this game we click along to match the suits to win the game. It’s not a hard game and some games go by quick while others take some thinking. Today’s game was one of those that make me think, but not because the game was hard. I was rushing just wanting to get it over with. I don’t know why because it’s not like I HAD to even play the game. But, anyways, I was rushing through and had gotten through extra deck with no moves left. And that’s what made me pause. Because rushing without paying attention is why I had to start the game over. If I had paid attention and left some cards in place so I could make additional moves I would have completed the game quickly.

Yes it does seem like I am rambling on about this irrelevant game, but there is a point, at least in my mind (lol). Life, like this game, sometimes requires us to pause and leave things in place in order for us to make our next move better and more productive. Sometimes we need to pause, reflect, and look around us before or instead of rushing ahead just to get things done. Maybe it’s not the right time, maybe it’s not the best plan, maybe what we consider as a road block is really just God’s way of saying slow down, it’s not time yet.

So, back to the game…I paused and actually looked at the cards as they were laid out and moved ONE card back to its original place, yes just one card, and like magic the rest of the cards fell right into place. I take that as a sign that I need to slow it down and pay attention. And I remember the card, it was the 8 of hearts. I know it doesn’t hold any significance, but it’s the point that it slowed me down enough to look at that card where before I was on auto pilot.

So, enough of my rambling for today. I wish you a blessed day, one where you take a moment to pause and enjoy the moment you are in. It doesn’t matter if it is raining, snowing, or a beautiful day of sunshine with a nice, cool breeze. It’s a day we have been blessed with and we won’t be able to duplicate it.

God bless.

cards

 

Leave a Reply

