a quarrel witnessed

Today I do feel that I was directed to the right place at the right time. I was in the turning lane ready to go home and suddenly I changed lanes and decided to go straight so I could stop at the post office. I had no intention of going to the post office and I cannot explain why I changed my mind at the last minute.

I drive up and park and to my right I see a man standing outside his SUV throwing things around the vehicle. He looked like he was frantically looking for something. The lady sitting in the passenger seat looked upset. I am not one who stops and stares nor do I like to get involved in other people’s issues so I went about my business.

I went inside and walked back out and before I backed out to leave I looked over and I could see they were arguing. I rolled my window down and got the man’s attention to tell him that he had a drink on the top of his vehicle. He was already upset and I didn’t want a forgotten drink to add to his bad day. The man looked at me, just stared at me, and as I started to roll my window up he said ‘WAIT’ kind of frantically. Normally I would have just said what I needed to say and left, but something in his voice compelled me to wait and listen to him. He simply asked me to call a phone number to find his phone. Then he kept apologizing saying ‘I’m sorry ma’am’ several times. He snapped at the lady to give me the number and she looked at me desperately and quickly tried to find it. I smiled and said just breathe it’s all going to be ok.

I dialed the number and the man lunged under the seat to get the phone, grabbing it, holding it up victoriously, and thanked me. The lady still looked worried so I looked at her and asked her if she was ok. Before she could speak the man said, ma’am thank you so much for stopping us today, thank you because I shouldn’t have been yelling and I scared her. Thank you for making me stop because I know better and I love her. Her face visibly relaxed and she looked 10 years younger. I smiled and reminded him about the drink on the top of his car. He smiled and said thank you for making us stop.

At first I thought, that’s odd that he said it that way instead of thank you for stopping, but no he said it just how he meant it. He needed something to make him stop. He needed something to make him change gears.

I know that I was directed to that post office today. I was there because I needed to be there. That couple needed to find their phone, they needed someone to witness their quarrel and to intervene. And I needed to be reminded that we can create a new beginning in a moment by changing our mind and/our attitude. And God allows us to start over. He lets us confess our sins and our fears and gives us another chance.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” Duet. 31:6

 

Leave a Reply

