take time for family

time spent with family

Work is important because it pays the bills and is what supports our families. But we have to find work-life balance. What’s the saying about work to live not live to work? I heard that somewhere and yes, it is true!

So, today I had to go in to the office to work and time just got away from me. Before I knew it 4 1/2 hours had passed and I still was not close to finishing. But it’s Saturday and I want to see spend time with my children. So, I called my husband and asked if he and my daughter wanted to go to a movie. Surprisingly my youngest said yes (the oldest already had plans) so I told them to pick a movie and tell me what time I needed to meet them. An hour later I closed my laptop and off I went.

The movie was about 2 hours long. And for that time I focused on spending that time with my family. Work can consume us. Life can consume us. But we live because of our family. Living shouldn’t be a chore; it should be about making memories with families.

One thing I learned when I was diagnosed with cancer is that time is limited and once it’s gone we can’t get it back. And once the person is gone that’s it.

So take time out of your busy day for your family. My kids know I love them. I tell them many, many times every day. But I want to show them. I like to be spontaneous. I like to surprise them. A note in the lunchbox. Or surprising the oldest at work with lunch. Sometimes it’s having lunch delivered to him because I know he’s having a busy day and he may not have time to leave to get something to eat. I may not be the one bringing it but he knows I am thinking about him.

So anyway, today I knew I had to step away from work. Not because I work too much (which I do) but because I needed time with my kids. I needed my kids to know that no matter what I have going on they are always on my mind, always the most important part of my life.

Take time for family.

Leave a Reply

