Girls trips

Three years ago I took my first girls’ trip….not your typical girls trip where friends head out on a weekend trip to Vegas….no, it’s much more than that. My girls trip includes my daughter and there aren’t any bars involved. It’s about making memories with her and starting a tradition that she can do with her children.

Making memories with her is extremely important to me. She was only 4 when I was first diagnosed with cancer and as quickly as it was spreading we didn’t know how long I would have. I’m a fighter and I knew I had to make it through that ordeal to see her start school and also see her graduate. But I’m also a realist and know that no one is promised tomorrow so I have to pack as much into each day as possible. And that is where the girls trips come in.

It’s funny because we still share laughs from things that happened from our first trip 3 years ago. And last year we were blessed because we did a few day trips in addition to our annual trip. And we include her godmother because what’s a girls trip without your best girls?

It’s exciting to plan where we will go and what we want to see. The best part for me is seeing the excitement of a little girl and then experiencing the trip through her eyes. One truly doesn’t experience life until it is experienced with the innocence of a child. Man, I am SO BLESSED.

We are already planning our trips for this year. We won’t be able to do the week-long trip we hoped for this year but we do have a couple weekends already on the calendar. First one is tomorrow!

When I hear the ladies at work talking about their plans with ‘the girls’, or when they come in on Monday after a weekend out with ‘the girls’, I smile and listen to  the stories of their escapades. Sounds like fun, but I don’t envy. There is nothing in the world that would make me trade my girls trips for theirs.

Be blessed and be well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

