GT16, 1

Today is our first trip for the year. It will be a quick trip, just the girls, so technically it makes it a girls trip. It’s really just a little road trip, but its a day for me to make memories with my little one so it’s important to me.

This one is a little different because it’s not just me, my daughter, and her godmother. We are bringing our sons’ girlfriends along. My daughter is okay with it – which is what’s most important to me.

I suggested bringing the girlfriends along as a way for us to bond. There’s some backstories there, which I won’t get into at the moment, but I think it’s important for each of us (Sarabelle and I) to make an effort with the girlfriends. It’s not a matter of wanting the girls to like us – believe me, that is the last thought in our minds. But, these girls are important to our sons, so we need open a door for them to relate to us. Baby steps…and we will see where this goes.

The trip will be fine, we will all have a great time, but my hope is that these girls will see that there is a different side to parenting than what they experienced growing up. That a boyfriend’s mom is a person too. We are human, we make mistakes, but we make decisions based on the never wavering love for our children. I’m not looking for another daughter, I have my princess. But I hope to build a relationship that is not a series of awkward meet and greets simply because I’m the boyfriend’s mom. And for Sarabelle, well that’s her story to tell. I’m here to support her, that’s all.

I’m sure you’ve figured it out that my daughter’s godmother is Sarabelle (sorry for the late introduction) and thank goodness for Sarabelle because she has pulled this little road trip together for us. Lord knows I have been so stressed from work that I haven’t had a chance to think straight, so if she wasn’t so great at organizing and planning (https://www.facebook.com/memorableeventswithsunshine)  we would be staying home today. And that would have hurt my heart. I think I need this trip more than anyone (that’s a whole different series of posts/rants/etc).

Wish us luck. Two moms, a 12 year old Princess, and 3 young adults on our first road trip – without the ‘supervision’ of our sons. What in the world was I thinking? Oh, I wanted us to all bond….again, wish us luck.

We all need a chance for new beginnings. God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

