being patient

We were standing in line at the grocery store, a long line, when everyone in the store seems to be checking out at the same time and there are only 3-4 cashiers but 50 check out lanes. I admit, it was frustrating to be standing there and the lines not moving at all. And as frustrated as I was I learned a lesson in patience.

We slowly we made it to the register, next in line, and wouldn’t you know it…the person in front of me was having issues with her WIC voucher and she needed to get the correct items so she could check out. The cashier was flustered, the customer was flustered, and to make matters worse her child was agitated and was fussing loudly.

The customer was trying to hurry things along and asked her mother to get the correct items. She looked around and saw there were about 10 people in line behind us. She looked helpless. Graciously she asked the cashier to check me out – which I greatly appreciated- because she didn’t want to keep holding up the line. She was trying to calm her child, talk to her mother, and she really looked like she wanted to just disappear.

As I was checking out the baby was getting louder and people were making indirect comments. I looked at my daughter and asked her to go grab a snack from the display. The cashier rang up the can of Cheese Nips and I asked the mom if her child could have the crackers (I would never just give a child something to eat without asking permission first). She was startled but said yes. I opened the crackers and handed it to the toddler and then there was QUIET. The mom kept saying ‘you don’t have to do that’ I smiled and said I wanted to because I remember the days of shopping with a toddler.

I didn’t do anything special. I calmed a fussy toddler. I’m a mom. That’s what we do. But it calmed me too. It made me feel better to know that the child felt better. And it must have calmed other people because they stopped talking.

There are many things in our lives that we cannot control. But we can control how we react to different things and situations.

I really and truly want to be a better person – a better person today than the person I was yesterday – and if that sounds cliché then so be it. But it is how I feel. And it starts with learning patience, being kind, and being the role model my daughter deserves me to be.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

