extended family

I love being a mom. Being a parent is the most important part of my life. I would be lost without my children.

As much as I love my children, I also have room in my heart to love their friends. I do not want to be a mom to someone else’s child, meaning I would never try to take a parent’s place. I am the mother to my children and that is enough for me. I know my place as a parent. But I won’t prevent a child from becoming a part of my extended family.

My son has friends who have become a part of my extended family. One child, in particular, lost his mother at a young age and although he had a stepmother he says he never felt the connection with her. He came into our lives when he was an adult, but still a young teen, and we welcomed him into our family. And then one day I became ‘mom’ to him.

So, my unofficial adopted son is starting a new chapter in his life…..his girlfriend is pregnant. And I don’t know how I feel about it. It’s a boy, so it is exciting to see him excited. But with their history I worry about the drama that is going to come. But, it’s a little miracle so he will be loved too. I am blessed to be a part of this new chapter in his life. I know it must hurt to not have his mother to share the news with. I can only imagine how much he misses her, and while I cannot and do not wish to take her place, I am proud that he has connected with me enough to feel like I can be a surrogate mother figure.

As our children get older, move out, and have lives of their own we don’t get to see them every day or even as much as we would like. That doesn’t mean we don’t love our families, it just means we are settling into our own routines. That’s ok as long as we remember what the most important parts of our lives are, which is our families. And if we are blessed to have extended family then that is wonderful too.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

