team support

This has been one of the worst weeks of my work life. There were moments when I felt like I wasn’t going to make it through the day without snapping. Moments when I felt near defeat. Moments when I wanted to walk out.

But, today I was surrounded by a team of amazing managers who surrounded me with support. They did their best to be my cheerleaders, to make me smile, and to alleviate some of my stress. They invited me into their team and made me feel welcome, like part of their work family.

It’s not about accolades. Not at all. I prefer to work in the shadows and allowing someone else to shine. It’s about being sabotaged. Working side by side with a liar who comes alive when he is hurting someone else. That type of behavior and personality is repulsive to me. It drains me. It creates a stress that I’ve never had before.

Working with people who lack integrity, values, and morals is exhausting. It’s even more gruesome when one of those people is your manager. These two individuals not only kick someone when they are down, they stomp on them. And that is where my stress comes in because I am the one who will fight for what’s right, I will do my best to right the wrong, and I won’t do something I don’t agree with just because someone with a higher title tells me to. Because I question, defend, and say NO, I cannot be part of the clique. Which is ok with me, but makes my job difficult.

So after a long and stressful week I was shown another side of the company. The side where sane people with morals and integrity sit. People who care and appreciate that I stand up for what is right and fight against what is wrong. People who do their job, applaud when someone does a good job, and don’t create drama when someone makes a mistake. People who understand that there is life outside of a job. People who appreciate each other. This is the team that I want to be a part of.

Times are tough for everyone. Jobs are scarce. Money tight. So I am thankful for the job I have. Thankful for the income. And now I am thankful for my team.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

