blessing of friendship

I write of the blessing of friendship with specific friends and I thought it may seem as if I don’t have many friends. So I sat back for a moment to reflect upon that thought. Do I have many friends? I know a lot of people, but do I really have a lot of friends?

I have many acquaintances. I have many colleagues. I have many people that I interact with on a regular basis. But are these people my friends? I guess that depends on a person’s definition of friendship. What does friendship mean to you? What does a person have to do or be like in order for you to consider him/her a friend?

I believe most people know and interact with a lot of people and from a vague, generic description those people could be called friends. And there are many who are kind and would ‘give the shirt off their back to a stranger’, but does that make him/her your friend? Their kind, empathetic nature means they are a kind, empathetic person. But are they your friend?

I don’t believe that I have a large circle of friends. The ones that I know I could call at 3 am with a problem, or ones who know they could call me. Yes, I know a lot of people, I’ve helped and will continue to help a vast many, but I honestly would not call them my friend.

It’s not about what they do for me. I’m not one who asks for much, if anything at all. It’s about trust, loyalty, honesty, no judgment, being there for another person type of friendship. Someone who doesn’t want to use me who just wants to be a part of my life. Someone I am comfortable with who will stand beside me when I’m down and shout from the mountaintops with me or for me when I’m up. Someone who soars with me.

So I guess I don’t have a large circle of friends, and I like it that way. I’m happy with my small circle of friends and large square of acquaintances. It doesn’t mean that these acquaintances don’t matter to me. Everyone matters. I can make memories with acquaintances. I can enjoy spending time with them. But at the end of the day, my circle is still small.

I believe that if others took time to evaluate what friendship means to them they would realize their circle is probably small too.

And there are friends that I probably won’t write about. Their importance in my life is indescribable.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

