blessing of friendship, my friend Jack

My friend Jack is a true blessing. We live hundreds of miles apart yet we are as close as if we lived next door. He’s a true friend, one who simply wants the best for me as I want for him. There are no expectations, no demands, just the simple wish for each other to be happy, healthy, and safe.

We don’t talk on the phone, we text. Yes, it seems impersonal, but that’s how we connect. We are both extremely busy with family, work, and life’s responsibilities. We don’t have time to spend on the phone, but we make time each day to send each other a text just to check on one another, say hi, wish each other a good day.

We watch the news and weather checking on each other’s states and remind each other to be safe. We talk about our kids, worry about them, shake our heads at their antics. We joke, we share our work issues, and we are in tune when the other person needs to be cheered up.

Jack is a blessing to me. It’s a pure friendship. No agendas. Nothing superficial, inappropriate, or even remotely romantic. Just two friends who care about another human being. It’s refreshing to have a friendship with someone who expects nothing from me and still cares enough to think about me and my family. It’s a blessing to have a friend who knows the meaning of friendship.

I count my blessings. I pray for my friend and his family. I am thankful.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

