understanding autism

Autism_Spectrum_Disorder-1

It was not until about 15 years ago that I was introduced to Autism Spectrum Disorder. And to be honest I still don’t know enough about it. What I do know is that Autism is misunderstood and we need awareness.

Being exposed to 2 children that I love who have been diagnosed with Autism has opened my eyes to the vast ignorance out there in the world. The word retarded makes me want to slap someone. People with disabilities are NOT retarded, they have a disability. And they are a human being who love and are loved.

Seeing the pain that their mothers have endured has been painful for me. I cannot put myself in their shoes, but I can try my best to be there for them and their boys. Both boys call me auntie and I am SO PROUD to be their aunt. One is nonverbal and one is not. That is just one of many differences of autism. And my goodness there are too many differences within the autism spectrum to even try to wrap my head around. All I know is that I love those boys and I want the world to recognize that Autism is a diagnosis not a person.

The parents of a child with autism deserve the utmost respect. There are so many challenges and obstacles that parents go through. So many emotions that unless you are in their shoes you cannot begin to understand. And there is so much that they don’t share because it’s overwhelming for them. So they take it one day at a time and fall into bed exhausted just to start it all over again a few hours later.

Loving these children and having them in my life has changed me for the better. I cannot imagine my life without them. My heart hurts for them because the world doesn’t understand them. We need education and understanding. Parents need support. Schools need training. The world needs tolerance.

If you love someone with autism then you are blessed.

God bless, and be blessed.

 

love child autism

out

Leave a Reply

