a simple country life

I grew up in the city, where the hum of constant traffic was a comforting hum in the background. Even now I sleep with the TV on because I need the background activity. I love the city life where every kind of business was a short drive, maybe even a quick walk, away.

But, now I live in the country…and I love it. I love the quiet calm that comes with country living. Neighbors are several acres away versus a literal next door neighbor where yards are almost shared and only partitioned by 20 feet of right-of-way.

I love being able to plant a vegetable garden and having fresh, home-grown vegetables to make a meal with. It’s refreshing to be able to sit on my porch and just listen to the sounds of nature. After a long, busy day at work it’s nice to be able to have a peaceful quiet.

As a self-proclaimed city girl I surprised myself when I realized how much I enjoy living in the country. I didn’t realize how much I longed for a simpler life.

There is something to be said about country living. Looking out at a plush green yard that stretches over a couple acres is serene. The line of trees that shade the back of the property is so pretty. And that garden of fresh vegetables and herbs is so rewarding. Hmm, is this city girl turning into a country girl? Nah, I still love the hustle and bustle of the city. I like the convenience of the city where everything you need is nearby. But, there is joy in country driving, little traffic, and being able to enjoy the beauty of nature.

Visiting an Amish community is on my bucket list. I want exposure to an off-the-grid experience. I want serenity.

Basically I want a quiet corner.

God bless, and be blessed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

