respect your elders

Today I had moment where I had to pause, and remind myself of how blessed I am. Although my father has been gone for over 20 years, I am blessed to still have my mother on this earth.

So today one of my older employees called me for help with the company’s intranet site. I’m not in IT but I am in a position where employees call me for different things. This was one of those times. I was super busy today and it’s been a horrible week. Honestly I didn’t want to take any calls at all, but for some reason I picked up the phone for this call.

For a split second I became aggravated because he was not following the instructions I was walking him through. I literally felt myself about to say something in a sharp tone and something came over me and I just stopped in my tracks. I took a few seconds to pause and told him we would start from the beginning and we would make sure he understood completely before we hung up. I could hear the relief in his voice.

Thinking about it brings tears to my eyes. Not because I did anything special. I didn’t. The tears are because that could have been my mother on the phone. She’s about this gentleman’s age and I know she doesn’t have the greatest computer skills. I heard the frustration in this man’s voice. Not because of me or because of the website. The frustration was because he felt helpless. And that breaks my heart. I couldn’t allow our interaction to add to that frustration or helplessness. That’s not fair to him and it wouldn’t be the right thing to do.

He thanked me several times before we ended the call. There wasn’t a need for that. But, I also thanked him. He won’t know it, but he gave me something special from our call. He reminded me that I should never be too busy to help someone, especially someone who is older. I don’t want my mother to ever feel helpless like that and I pray if she ever needs help that she receives the help quickly and from someone kind.

Be kind to everyone, but especially someone elderly. They have experiences we don’t and they’ve taught us things that have gotten us to this point in our lives. They may not be the quickest at this moment, but remember that we will all be there one day. And when we weren’t quick, when we were stumbling, it was someone older who gave us guidance and kept us steady. We should never forget that.

Remember your blessings and be a blessing to someone else.

God bless, and be blessed.

 

Leave a Reply

