when you let time pass you by

I’ve started a mental bucket list of things I want to do, places I want to see, and also a list of things I wish I could have done. I realize that I’ve let time pass me by in some instances and there are things I will not be able to mark off on my bucket list as completed.

How am I supposed to feel when I realize that there are some things I am actually too old to achieve? No, it’s not a matter of feeling sorry for myself, or that I need a pep talk to say ‘oh yes, you can do it’, no it’s the cold fact that there are some things I must cross off my list because I have passed the maximum age limit. Am I supposed to have regrets? Am I supposed to be sad? I don’t really know how to feel. I know that I don’t regret putting effort and focus on my raising my children which took priority over some of my dreams. I’m ok with my decisions. Sometimes we have to adjust our dreams to fit circumstances and to fit into our current life and reality.

So, I’m marking things off my bucket list. There are some things I won’t be able to achieve. The time for those opportunities has passed. So, now I need to consider other things to put on my list. Something more meaningful than skydiving. Although a skydiving trip could be symbolic for someone, I’m looking for something more, something different.

While I’m thinking of what to add to my bucket list, I won’t have regrets for the decisions I’ve made, the opportunities I didn’t take, or the circumstances that helped pave the path I took. What I will do is be open to opportunities that will come available and be happy and thankful for the blessings that have been bestowed upon me.

But, it is a blow to one’s ego when you realize you too old to achieve something.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

