my niece’s wedding, her fairytale

The wedding was beautiful. She planned the wedding of her dreams and it turned out just as she had hoped. Surprises for her guests as they incorporated their personalities into the ceremony and reception made for a fun-filled, memorable event.

They wanted the ceremony to be quick, meaningful, happy, and a true representation of them as individuals and as a couple. And the accomplished just what they wanted. I sat in the back row, first seat to the aisle. I wanted to see her when the door opened. But, nothing prepared me for the rush of emotions when I saw her for the first time looking like a princess arm-in-arm with her daddy. She was absolutely beautiful. I couldn’t have been more proud as I was overcome with emotion.

The wedding signifies so much. It’s the beginning of her life with her new family. She is blessed with in-laws that love her like a daughter. That means a lot to me because I worry about her. She has a kind, loving heart and deserves never ending happiness. She deserves to be surrounded by love. The love she felt was missing from her mom. I think that is why I am so protective of her.

The wedding was her fairytale, but the fairytale is just begun. They are off on their honeymoon and when they return their life begins. The wedding began with prayers with the bride and groom separately as they prepared to meet for the last time as individuals. The ceremony closed with prayer as they turned to their family and friends for the first time as husband and wife. It was serene. Beautiful. Emotional.

‘And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.’ -1 Corinthians 13:13

wedding cupcakes

Leave a Reply

