Treat people as they treat you

What if you began treating people the way they treat you.

Would you only answer the phone when you feel like it? Would you only pick up the phone to call someone when you were in need? Would you only have time for someone when it benefited you?

So, what do you think the outcome would be if you began treating others the way they treat you? Would feelings be hurt? Would they become offended? Or would they accept it they way you do and just roll with it?

The saying is ‘treat people the way you wish to be treated’, but do we really do that? Do we truly treat people the way we want to be treated? I try, but I know that I can use some work. But, I really do try, not for me, but because I hope that by treating people with respect that my CHILDREN will be treated with respect. I hope that good karma will be passed to my children.

I don’t believe people treat others the way they expect, not just want – expect, to be treated. I believe people take others for granted and then become offended with they are called out for it.

I once told someone that they couldn’t use someone over and over again and then play victim when they are called out for their behavior. It doesn’t work that way. Well, I guess it does if you allow it too, but normally people get tired of being used. Even the sweetest, most non-confrontational person will eventually get enough.

I’ve considered treating others the way I’ve been treated. There are moments when I feel fed up with self-centered people who feel entitled. But, then there is the part of me that says as long as I give and do from the heart, with sincere intentions then I shouldn’t let someone else’s selfishness bother me….But I am human. And it does end up bothering me.

But I may slowly begin pulling the same stunts that others pull. Maybe I won’t answer when they call or text. Maybe I will only call when I need something. Maybe I will be selfish for a day. Maybe I deserve to see how it feels to not care about anyone but me. Maybe we all deserve to see how that feels.

What I do know is that we ALL deserve respect.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

