missed opportunities

Do you ever look back and think of what might have been? I admit, I don’t do it often, but I have and do.

I am a believer that things happen for a reason, good and bad.

It was the strangest thing. I had 2 separate conversations, with 2 different people about missed opportunities in the same day, just hours apart.

The first person was talking to me about missing an opportunity. He’s young, just starting his adult life, making his way, meeting people, and learning about himself. We talked, I shared my opinion based on my personal experiences, and we ended the conversation on a positive note. I want him to live his life to the fullest and have no regrets.

The second person is one of my closest and oldest friends. Our conversation spoke of a specific individual we have both known for over 10 years. I shared that he had reached out to me about a year ago. I thought his calls to me was random, driven from loneliness, but also from knowing I wouldn’t judge him. She didn’t know that he had called me but she shared with me that she has known that he has wanted to date me for years.

The conversation made me reflect and think of whether I missed an opportunity. I haven’t spoken to him in about a year. I’ve been so absorbed in life and responsibilities I didn’t even realize how quickly time has passed. And now, maybe this opportunity has passed me by.

Yes, I believe it has because he is now in a relationship. And he looks happy. But, I need to reach out to him…as his friend. To pick up where we left off, before his random calls.

Missed opportunities. I have to believe that everything happens for a reason. So, I have to believe it was an opportunity that was not meant to be.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

