unexpected lunch date

I’ve said before that I believe that things happen for a reason. Today, I believe was one of those days where there is a reason for the things that happened.

A former employee reached out to me to help him with his resume. I created the resume, sent it to him, and then didn’t think about it again. He reached out to me to go to lunch and I declined, but today at the last minute I accepted his offer. And I believe we were meant to meet for a reason.

I hadn’t seen him in years. We’ve spoken a few times over the course of the past 7-8 years, just saying ‘hi’, ‘Merry Christmas’, the general acknowledgements that people do to stay connected, but not really connected.

Today’s conversation started out with the typical ‘how have you been’ etc. Then he opened up and told me how his life has been over the past 6 years. And he has been through a lot.

He said he remembered when we first worked together and how I had helped him. He said his mother remembered and suggested he reach out to me. He shared his struggles and asked me if I would support him and his next journey…his journey to sobriety. Yes, he has accepted and admitted to himself that he has an issue with alcohol. And he asked me to be a support source for him. Not his sponsor, but a part of his support team.

I was humbled when he shared his story. More humbled when he asked me to be a part of his support team. We had lost touch. He has a close family. But he, and his mom, felt he should reach out to me. And I am honored.

The reason I feel our lunch date happened as it should is because he is only 3 days sober. He had given all of his cash and his debit and credit cards to his wife to keep him from being tempted to purchase alcohol. This morning he asked his wife for the debit card. And at the last minute I agreed to meet him for lunch. This was after I had already told him no last night and this morning. Yes, it could be a coincidence. It can be dismissed as no big deal. But I feel it was meant to be.

If I can help support his journey then I will proudly do so. I believe everyone deserves a second chance. I believe everyone deserves to have support, especially when they are trying to do the right thing.

I’m not patting myself on the back. By no means am I thinking I am doing anything special. He is doing all of the work. I am simply an ear, a shoulder, a voice of encouragement.

God bless, and be blessed.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9 ESV

Leave a Reply

