Tough Love

Being a parent is one of the hardest jobs in life. And as much as we love our children, sometimes we have to love them enough to give tough love. Sometimes we have to endure a little heartache in order to do what is best for our children. And it’s never an easy decision. I believe the pain we feel as parents cannot be described.

Sometimes we have to step back and allow our children to make their own decisions, even when we know they will not necessarily make the best decision for them. It’s hard to step back and keep quiet. It’s harder to see them falling, hurting, failing. But, as parents it’s our job to allow our children to grow up. We can only pray we have provided them a foundation to where they can feel comfortable making decisions, even bad ones.

I’m in a position now where I’ve decided that tough love is the approach I need to take. It’s breaking my heart to take that step back. I can’t tell you how I have agonized about this decision. But I know in the end it’s the best decision for my child. It will make us both better, and hopefully it will make our relationship stronger.

I know there will be storms and difficulties. I know that I will hurt more. But I have faith that loving my children unconditionally will overcome any trials that come our way. I will love my child through the tough times. I want him to know that if he falters I will be there to support him. I love him to no end. I love him enough to allow him to grow, and I love him enough to be there to help pick up pieces when he needs me.

The tough love approach is much harder for the parent than it is the child.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

