A baby’s dedication

Today was my godchild’s dedication and it filled my heart with so much joy.

This little boy came into my life unexpectedly. His father was one of my employees for a short period of time. I stayed with the employer from just a few months before moving on. We met and instantly became friends. We talked about our children, he’s not much older than my oldest child, and they have become friends.

He has 2 biological children and he is raising another child as his own. He’s a good man. But this story isn’t about him. It’s about his son – my godchild. AJ has brought so much joy to my family. His smile is so bright. He’s innocent, he loves wholeheartedly, and he accepts love without a second thought. His accomplishments – crawling, the first step – were huge, and we were excited to witness them. Teaching him, loving him, nurturing him is a blessing to us. We were chosen to be a part of his life. That is a gift.

His parents dedicated him today. And I was blessed to be a part of the experience. AJ doesn’t know what happened today. But I do. I know I have a job now. I have a job to guide him. To make sure he knows the Lord. To make sure he knows the love of God.

The service was beautiful. But it’s what the day stands for. It’s a baby dedication and what can be more beautiful than that?

“So I have dedicated him to the Lord; as long as he lives he s dedicated to the LORD” – 1 Samuel 1:28

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

