a woman’s identity

A person’s identity should not be completely linked to another person, whether it is her significant or not. A woman’s identity is about her, who she is inside, and who she is professionally.

I worked with a woman who, when introducing herself in a professional setting, would immediately say, “I’m XXX’s wife”. She has established herself in her career in the same field, same industry, but she feels the need to identify herself as the wife of a successful man versus herself, a successful person in her own right.

Recently I had a conversation with a young lady and the topic of music came up. I asked her what type of music she like and her response was that she doesn’t know because she only listens to what her boyfriend likes. I asked her if she liked the music he likes and she said sometimes but not really, yet she has resigned herself to only listen to what he chooses. That is sad to me. It’s as if she doesn’t have a voice.

I’m just randomly thinking. I’m not judging, I’m just thinking. I’m saddened. I have a daughter. I want her to have a voice. I want her to be confident. I want her to know it is 100% ok for her to listen to different genres of music to find what types of music she likes. I want her to be proud of her own accomplishments. I don’t want her to feel that she can only be proud of her husband’s success. I want her to know that her voice should be heard.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

