Surviving the floods, Louisiana strong

The past week has been pretty trying. The floods have been devastating and to see more rain in the forecast is really bringing me and everyone around me down.

I’m blessed because my home is not damaged unlike thousands of other families who have lost everything in their home. But, I’ve lost many personal, irreplaceable items and that hurts my heart.

I’ve had to go to work because I need the money. And there I see the heartbreaking faces of employees who are part of the thousands who have lost their homes, vehicles, and personal items. But they are at work too. And they smile, they put on a brave face, display a positive attitude, and pretend that everything is ok. They come and do their job, because they need the money, and don’t complain at all.

It’s been a rough week. Roads are still flooded and everywhere we look there is damage. Some very minor, but some is devastating.

On a brighter side, it is heartwarming to see so many come together to help one another. Strangers, high school sports teams, businesses, and family/friends are going form neighborhood to neighborhood and city to city to rescue people, rescue animals, and to help people rebuild lives.

What’s funny (not really) is that the media is reporting less than facebook. If you want to see the real heroes, the real devastation, and the communities that are pulling together then look on facebook. There you will see the real story of this disaster. There you will see strangers pulling together because that’s what Louisiana people do.

I do not wish this type of disaster on any person or community. I surely wish my own community wouldn’t be going through this right now. I hope the rain lets up so we can begin to rebuild our lives. But I am very proud to be a part of a culture where not even a 1,000 year flood will keep the people from pulling together and bonding.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

