job hunting…and disappointment

Looking for a job can be stressful and very disappointing. Reading the the words “X years experience required” can be confusing for new grads and I hear the question “how can I get experience if no one will hire me” all the time. And it’s a legitimate question. How does a person gain the required experience if they can’t get hired, and where did all the experienced people already hired gain that required experience?

On the other end of the spectrum is the “you’re overqualified” statement. That’s heartbreaking. A person spends thousands of dollars to gain an education, spends a great deal of time gaining “experience” and certifications, and then gets passed over for a job because they are “overqualified”.

I understand the overqualified mentality, that doesn’t mean I necessarily agree, but I do understand. An overqualified person normally will look for a more challenging, probably high paying, and is usually just taking the position as a means to an end. Companies don’t want to invest time and money in a person they feel will leave soon. But, that person may be a huge asset that the company is missing out on. And that person may be looking for something completely different than their previous jobs. But, if the first reaction is “overqualified – pass” it may be a lose-lose for both parties.

I’ve experienced both ends of this spectrum. I have been the “needs experience” person who needed someone to take a chance on me. Fortunately I had someone who did and I was successful in that job. To the point that I still help out at the company once in awhile. And I’ve been that overqualified person. Both are disappointing. Both fail to get my bills paid.

We are going through a really tough time economically. There are so many that are in both categories and others somewhere in the middle. We all need jobs, we all need a break, we all need a chance. I am fortunate because I have a job. Its not my ideal job but I have one. I am so thankful. But I have friends who are needing a chance, that break that will get them back on their feet. And its a difficult place because for every 1 job opening there are hundreds of applicants. It’s painful to watch.

My prayers are for stability, for faith, for endurance. I pray we can all hang on and make ends meet. I pray we all stay above water.

God bless, and be blessed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

