Loving Jolie

Every child needs love, needs family. But when circumstances take away one or both parents then others must step up and be that family.

Jolie is not a family member by blood, but she is family by love. Jolie came into our lives this past year. She is the most beautiful little 3 year old. Smart, funny, loving. And she’s now my unofficial granddaughter.

Jolie is the niece of my son’s fiance. Her parents are not really in the picture and although she has her grandparents she doesn’t have the mommy and daddy that a toddler needs. And that’s where my kids step in. And that’s how she entered my heart and my life. There’s no turning back now.

I had a long talk with my son and explained that once you make the commitment to love a child it’s a commitment for life. Regardless of the relationship you have with someone else, your relationship with the child doesn’t end. And from the way he rushes home to have lunch with her, takes the time to lay on the floor coloring with her, and thinks of her well-being even when she’s not with him I think he understands. He loves her like she is his daughter and it is amazing to see the bond between them.

It’s heartwarming when I walk into the room and she runs right to me to hug me. She asks to come home with me, she wants to sit in my lap and snuggle with me. She hugs me so tight and I hug her just as tight. If you could spend 5 minutes with her you would fall in love with her too.

Loving Jolie wasn’t a conscious decision. She came into my life and she claimed a piece of my heart. Then I learned her story and that sealed the deal. She’s part of our lives forever.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

