Growing apart, friendship

Growing apart is a natural part of friendship. As with any relationship, friends can go through growing pains.

I have friends who live across the world and we rarely, if ever, see each other now. But our friendship has survived regardless of the miles between us. I am blessed to have those friendships.

I have friends who I see on a fairly regular basis but at times have felt like we are strangers. Those make me sad because when I allow someone into my heart I give 100%. If I call someone a friend that means I am a true friend to them. I don’t do halfway. You are either a friend, an acquaintance, a stranger, or nothing.

There is a saying that people come into our lives for a reason, season, or a lifetime. Although there is a sadness when a friendship begins to end it may just be a part of the normal life-cycle of some relationships.

I’ve been reflecting on a few friendships lately and realize that the life-cycle of those relationships are close to coming to an end. There is sadness but also joy because I don’t have regrets for investing in them. They were a part of my life, my family and I will smile about the good times and let go of the bad.

Growing apart is part of life. And who knows, God’s plan may be to bring them back into my life at another point. If not, then I know I did my all to be a good friend to them and that’s all I could do.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

