April Fools Day

I love a good joke. Really I love to laugh. I laugh when I’m stressed, when I’m nervous, when I’m happy, when I’m sad.

But we all know, or at least we should know, that there is a time and place for everything.

It’s April Fools Day and I worry about the pranks that will be pulled today that will break a heart. The pranks that are not for the sake of a laugh but are there to humiliate and hurt. I worry about those who are not strong enough to stand up and say enough is enough.

One of the pranks that I don’t care for is the pregnancy announcement. For those who have tried and cannot conceive, this type of joke is hurtful. Another one is the phone call that someone is in the hospital or has been in a bad accident. Why in the world would anyone think this is funny? To see someone panic with fear should not be humorous to anyone. There’s even a movie about pranks and how one man lost his family over a prank phone call. I can’t recall the name but it was actually a decent movie.

The saying is that laughter is the best medicine. I believe it is medicine for our soul. Laughter is contagious. And we probably don’t do enough of it. But we shouldn’t want to hurt someone for the sake of laughing.

Random thoughts, but when you go to prank someone today make it about fun and not pain. Let everyone enjoy the prank, including the one being pranked.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

