writers block

Am I the only person with writer’s block? Not just the writer’s block that comes from knowing what to write. The writer’s block that comes from feeling comfortable writing down thoughts and feelings.

There are so many times when I open the laptop with the intent of writing. And nothing comes. Or I start to write and I pull back because writing, especially on a public forum, is a conflict with my private nature. So I am guarded. Which is a form of my writer’s block.

When I was younger I wrote poetry. Even had a few things published. But with youth comes a more carefree outlook. With age and experience we become more guarded and concerned. And with this trend of publicly sharing everything, and publicly humiliating others for enjoyment, there is reason to be cautious. Or at least I tell myself that.

Certainly I am not the only person who wants an outlet but holds back. I can’t be the only person looking for that quiet corner but can’t throw all caution to the wind.

I believe part of my confusion is that I flip from writing “to” myself – my personal journal – and writing knowing that others will read what I’ve writing. I even started this post with that same confusion. In my head I was writing to myself, to “talk” myself through my stress. But I know that someone will read this (thank you for taking the time to read my posts) and I worry that I’ve wasted their time. And I’m OCD so I stress over my paragraphs not flowing like they should.

I’m rambling, I know. But maybe this is an example of my writer’s block. I do know that although I have not made sense of my thoughts I feel so much better just typing, even though none of this makes sense. Maybe this is just me showing the chaotic part of my brain.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

