If I stop

If I stop calling there’s a reason.
It may be me. It may be you. But there’s a reason.
Maybe you don’t pick up the phone, maybe you don’t call back.
Maybe I just don’t have anything to say.

If I stop trying, there’s a reason.
Maybe I took the hint. Maybe I saw enough signs. Maybe I lost interest. Maybe you should have tried. Maybe someone else caught my eye.

If I stop worrying, there’s a reason.
Maybe my efforts weren’t enough. Maybe you ignored my efforts too often. Maybe you needed to worry a little more. Maybe I just became tired. Maybe I finally stopped caring.

If I stop being the one you could always turn to, there’s a reason.
Maybe I needed someone and you weren’t there. Maybe I felt used and taken advantage of. Maybe you needed to put forth some effort too.

If I stop, there’s a reason.
Maybe it’s me. Maybe it’s you. But there’s a reason. And maybe now it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

