Letting kids be kids

Summertime is here and kids are excited to be out of school. As a parent I am too. Not because I don’t like school, but because I want my child to have a break.

School is stressful. The school experience has changed. School is is now about teaching for testing, staffed with overworked teachers, classes with bullies, and a push for kids to be overachievers. What happened to letting kids be kids? Why can’t we just let them have fun? Why can’t they have a childhood?

I am a working mom but I do my best to make memories with my kids. I want them to look back on their childhood and remember good times and happiness. That is one of the most important things to me. I want my kids to know and remember that I love them and their happiness is important to me.

That being said, I am letting my kids be kids this summer. I’m not filling their summer with a bunch of structured activities. I tell them to sleep late. To relax. To hang out with their friends. Be kids. Do what kids do. They don’t have to be little adults. They have the rest of their lives to be adults. To be stressed out. But they only have a short time to be a kid. Enjoy life.

We have activities planned. Vacation time. We will have fun. But most important they will be kids and we will make memories. That’s what important to me.

God bless, and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

